Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pitch new yeast or dump and start over  (Read 1066 times)

Offline Ortonryan

• 1st Kit
Pitch new yeast or dump and start over
« on: August 01, 2020, 04:32:37 am »
Hey all. First time posting and relatively new brewer here. I brewed an IPA yesterday and planned to use Omega’s Hornindal to ferment. I’ve never used liquid yeast (or any Kveik)before. I thought I did everything right, kept everything sanitary, aerated the wort well, kept temps fairly high (79) and consistent. But 10 hours later and there’s absolutely no activity. I was worried about the vitality as I live in an area with no LHBS and have order online. I had actually gotten a second type of yeast (Imperial Flagship) and it has exploded enroute. That brings me to my question. The replacement imperial is due to arrive this afternoon. Do I pitch that and try to save this beer or count it as a loss and start over? Re-oxygenate the wort? Thanks for any help you can give me! I’m excited to move into liquid yeast and saving cultures but this first experience makes me want to go back to US-05!

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Pitch new yeast or dump and start over
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2020, 06:20:53 am »
The situation you describe is the reason I went to dry yeast exclusively a few years ago. No reliable local store and DOA mail order yeast.

Having said that, isn’t this yeast supposed to be super fast?  Have you taken a hydrometer reading?  Maybe it’s finished or still finishing.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline roger

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2020, 06:33:40 am »
Don't dump, just be patient. Having never used this yeast strain, IDK, but typically the little varmints need more than 10 hours to show signs of activity. I've always been happy with Omega yeasts. Leave it alone and it will likely take off.