Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mead Recipe Ingredients?  (Read 3880 times)

Offline mastfalk

• 1st Kit
Mead Recipe Ingredients?
« on: August 24, 2020, 09:03:29 am »
All - I’m new to mead making and I’m following a recipe on a Key Lime session mead. There are two ingredients that I can’t find and one ingredients t that the HBS sold me that I don’t know if I should be using it or not.

I can’t find:
BSG Superfood
and DAP, Diamonium Phosphate

HBS says nobody buys those products and then sold me Fermax which seems to be a mix of DAP and other chemicals.

What are these and what are some commercial alternatives?
« Last Edit: August 24, 2020, 09:13:44 am by mastfalk »

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: Mead Recipe Ingredients?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2020, 12:05:46 pm »
For mead staggered nutrient additions (often referred to as SNA), the most common ingredients you will see mentioned are Fermaid K and DAP. Basically, you want a yeast nutrient (like BSG superfood, Fermaid K, Fermax, Fermaid O, etc.), but since honey contains very little nitrogen you also need additional nitrogen supplementation (i.e., DAP). This would be in addition to the amount of DAP that may already be included in the yeast nutrient. Fermax is fine to replace the superfood in your recipe, but you probably still want to use some DAP in addition to it.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline joe_meadmaker

• Brewer
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2020, 02:21:10 pm »
I think you'll be fine with the Fermax.  I haven't used it personally, but everywhere I'm looking has it listed as (essentially) a complete nutrient.  I agree with the staggered nutrient addition mentioned by erockrph.