Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Picking Ingredients for a Reason  (Read 1479 times)

Offline Tfwebster

• Assistant Brewer
Picking Ingredients for a Reason
« on: September 01, 2020, 04:43:42 pm »
I'm relatively new to all grain brewing and very new to recipe design. Our brew club president talks about choosing each ingredient for a reason.  Obviously that reason is always partly style, and I know experience is a great (but kind of expensive) teacher. Any great sources to learn about the nuts and bolts of ingredients? Like if I want to really dive deep into malts, where do I go? Thank you.
If reading about homebrewing is your thing, join Brewer's Book Club at  https://www.facebook.com/groups/754108348475546/

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2020, 05:09:30 pm »
I began simplifying my grain bills a while back based roughly on Drew Beechum’s ‘Brewing on the Ones’ concept presented at AHA HomeBrew Conference (below) combined with John Palmer’s template found in his book How to Brew, Chapter 20 Experiment! — Developing your own Recipes.  I’ve gone thru iterations of this concept and refined my template to my tastes.

I believe kitchen sink beers rarely fare well. The simplicity just makes life easier, reduces inventory, and produces some fairly tasty beers IMO.  Most of my recipes limit base (or base combos), C malts, roast malts, unmalted adjuncts, sugars, etc.

I believe these are starting points and each brewer must develop their own recipes based on experience over time.

https://youtu.be/0sSKHzmhrzY

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 01, 2020, 05:48:56 pm by BrewBama »

Offline Megary

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Picking Ingredients for a Reason
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2020, 05:18:36 pm »
Your club President gave you good advice.