Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Barley Wine Bochet recipe, need some feedback  (Read 1634 times)

Offline Kokusho

• 1st Kit
Barley Wine Bochet recipe, need some feedback
« on: June 05, 2020, 12:22:10 pm »
I'm fairly new to beer brewing. I have made a couple of the kits, but that is about it. I have been brewing mead for a couple years now, so I'm not a completely new to brewing.

My plan is to make 1 gallon of boil in the bag to start and then try a 5 gallon batch if it turns out well.

I based it off of an english barley wine and here is what I have so far for 1 gallon.

3.5 LB Maris Otter
1 lb of honey boiled for an hour (won't add until after
3 oz Crystal mahogany ireks (from original, but can't get it locally and not sure if I need or if there is a sub.)

Here are the hops additions from the original recipe, but not sure if there is a better option.
90 min boil with 0.15 oz target at start
15 mins of boil with 0.28 challanger and 0.28 Northdown

If my calculations are correct I should get an OG somewhere around 1.110.

Main questions are;
  • not sure if the crystal is needed
  • Hops choice

I generally don't go for the super hoppy beers, and hops are probably my weakest area on knowledge.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Barley Wine Bochet recipe, need some feedback
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2020, 12:59:46 pm »
I'd say use the crystal, but it doesn't have to be that one.  Find a description and look for a suitable sub
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum