Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Temp control  (Read 730 times)

Offline NJHomeBrewer

• 1st Kit
Temp control
« on: September 13, 2020, 10:05:58 am »
Hey everybody,

I just started brewing with my Dad and we are trying to figure out how to get the temperature control stable enough for the Ale we are making, I was thinking about getting a mini fridge that you can hook up to temperature controller so I can set the ranges that way...anybody have any advice?

Thank you!! :)

Offline allenhuerta

• Brewer
Re: Temp control
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2020, 10:15:52 am »
Sounds like your plan is perfect. There are many methods depending on the investment you want to make. I bought a chest freezer and use a temp controller. I also have lizard tape in there to control the heat needed. There are cheaper and more expensive methods but what you stated is a good plan.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2020, 10:32:52 am »
I have an old fridge that I bought used for $25 ~30 yrs ago plugged into a temp controller. Works great.

Offline KellerBrauer

• Brewmaster
  • Bottoms Up!
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2020, 05:32:45 am »
I use an old kegerator plugged into an Inkbird.  Then I use a reptile heater also plugged into the Inkbird.  Keep in mind, if you use a fridge, you will need to - at the very least - turn the internal stat all the way down.  But, even doing so, the stat may still interfere with the operation of controller.  I disconnected the internal stat and jumped the connection. 
Joliet, IL

All good things come to those who show patients and perseverance while maintaining a positive and progressive attitude. 😉

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2020, 11:00:27 am »