Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mead done after a week? Also, a funky smell?  (Read 5962 times)

Offline MattHere

• 1st Kit
Mead done after a week? Also, a funky smell?
« on: September 05, 2020, 09:23:32 pm »
It's my first time brewing mead. My second time brewing anything. I have two mead batches I made last saturday that have been fermenting at about 68 degrees.

I have a cherry mead batch with Lavlin 71B I made last Saturday. It was going crazy less than 24 hours after I made it:  https://imgur.com/a/m1ixbPU

I punched the fruit cap and degassed once a day for 3 days. After about 4 days, the fermentation appeared very sleepy. I was getting 1 bubble out of the airlock every 90 secs. Today I was finally able to take a hydrometer reading and it read 1.002. OG was 1.084. Is this done already??!

I have another batch from the same day, no cherries with WLP720 yeast. That is reading 1.008. This batch is smelling like a funky/sour wheat beer. That same funky smell that the cellar of a Winery has. Is that normal?

Here are my ingredients:

**Both batches:**

water 109 oz

honey 2.5 lbz

OG 1.084

OG temp ?? (room temp)

yeast nutrient 2 tsp

yeast energizer 1 tsp

**Plain batch:**

White Labs WLP720

**Cherry batch:**

Lavlin 71B

3 lbs frozen cherries

Offline pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma
Re: Mead done after a week? Also, a funky smell?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2020, 06:33:11 am »
While your gravity reading suggests one may be ready it may still have a little bit more fermenting going on. I would wait another week at least. You run the risk of blowing off your airlock in secondary after agitating it during racking and waking up the fermentation. There is no risk in letting it sit.