Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First IPA  (Read 1384 times)

Offline ajjensen147

• Cellarman
First IPA
« on: October 07, 2020, 09:20:21 am »
Going to be trying my hand at brewing my first IPA in the next week or so, just wanted a little input on quick recipe I drummed up.

I'm not very experienced with recipe design/formulation, so please be gentle with any criticism lol

For 5 gallons:
10lbs Pale Malt
1lb Munich Malt
.5lb  Crystal 60
1 lb Corn Sugar

1 oz Centenniel @ 60
1 oz Cascade @ 15
2 oz Cascade @ 5
1 oz Cascade Dry hop - 4 days

For yeast, I would most likely use US-05, my LHBS generally only stocks Fermentis dry yeast.

As far as the mash, I don't do anything fancy: single infusion with a batch sparge.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
Re: First IPA
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2020, 09:23:28 am »
Looks good to me except I would use a couple more ounces of hops for dry hopping.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dan Chisholm

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2020, 09:37:06 am »
Not sure I'd use sugar in that.  If it was an IIPA, yes.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline ajjensen147

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2020, 09:42:52 am »
Looks good to me except I would use a couple more ounces of hops for dry hopping.

Okay, thanks!  Also going to be my first attempt at dry hopping, so I didn't have much experience to go off of.