Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Dry hopping versus oxygen in the secondary question  (Read 2600 times)

Offline Mr_Beer

• Cellarman
Dry hopping versus oxygen in the secondary question
« on: October 08, 2020, 05:03:14 pm »
Because I am not an expert, my inclination is to ensure that beer in the secondary is ‘up to the top’ of the carboy capacity.  This is because I am concerned about the dreaded oxygen exposure for the beer and the resulting side effects. 

Recently I tried to dry hop an IPA style beer in the secondary.  Lucky for me I had it in a laundry tub because it started to overflow the carboy capacity by a lot. 

So, my conclusion is that something is happening with the beer and the hops during the dry hopping process.

This time around I put the beer in a secondary container that had about 1 gallon of unused headspace.  Lots of stuff happened but the manifestation was that the airlock started bubbling soon after the hop additions.

My question is related to what is inside the carboy – did the dry hops start fermentation again and the resulting CO2 displaced the oxygen?

Put differently, am I obsessing about the O2 and its consequences?

Online BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Dry hopping versus oxygen in the secondary question
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2020, 06:10:48 pm »
You are not obsessed about O2 after fermentation is completed. After fermentation, O2 is one of the mortal enemies of beer. Heat and light are two others.

In fact, I dry hop in the primary 3 days after fermentation has begun. The idea is any O2 I potentially add by opening the fermenter to add the hops will be consumed by the active yeast.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2020, 06:17:29 pm by BrewBama »

Offline mabrungard

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Water matters!
    • Bru'n Water
Re: Dry hopping versus oxygen in the secondary question
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2020, 06:37:50 pm »