Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wyeast 2633 or W-34/70?  (Read 1447 times)

Offline Bel Air Brewing

• Senior Brewmaster
Wyeast 2633 or W-34/70?
« on: October 15, 2020, 03:51:32 pm »
We plan to brew up a nice light Euro (i.e., German) style lager soon.

As we have plenty of very fresh 2633 on hand, I was wondering how it would work in a Munich Helles, or a German Pils?

We had great success with the W-34/70 before, but thought the 2633 might be worth a try.

Any thoughts?

Online ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Wyeast 2633 or W-34/70?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2020, 03:57:35 pm »
I have no experience with this blend of strains, but I suspect it will work fine in the other German styles.  Anytime a blended yeast is re-pitched, I wonder which of the underlying strains will become dominant.  So, I would likely not have it as a candidate for serial re-pitching, but give it a shot, I am pretty sure it will be a good result in another German lager on the second use.
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Online BrewBama

Wyeast 2633 or W-34/70?
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2020, 06:30:03 pm »
I think of Pils and Helles as very “crisp” beers.  Though I do not have experience with this yeast blend, the description alone would steer me away from 2633: “This blend of lager strains is designed to produce a rich, malty, complex and full bodied Octoberfest style beer. It attenuates well while leaving plenty of malt character and mouthfeel. This blend is low in sulfur production.”

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline Bel Air Brewing

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2020, 06:10:12 am »
This would actually be the third generation, as Gen #2 is hard at work in another Fest Bier.
We may just give it a try...buy maybe in something closer to a Vienna Lager instead of a straight Pils.