Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How fast is too fast to move to all grain?  (Read 6208 times)

Offline dano14041

• Brewer
How fast is too fast to move to all grain?
« on: September 02, 2010, 11:28:04 am »
Good morning!
I am a noob who is going to start brewing. I ordered a brewing kit and receip kit this morning. I have almost finished reading "How to Brew" (am getting bogged down in the math at the moment) and have started reading "The Complete Joy of Homebrewing."

It looks like All Grain is more "fun" than doing the extracts and steeping methods. How fast (or slow) would you suggest going before jumping into all grain?

Thanks!
Dano
Tulsa, OK

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
Re: How fast is too fast to move to all grain?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 11:29:33 am »
There's no single answer, it just depends on when you are ready for it.  Mentally, financially, have the space, have the time etc.

If you're ready, go for it!
Tom Schmidlin

Offline bonjour

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Troy, MI, 37mi, 60.9deg AR
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2010, 11:31:13 am »
AG requires more equipment (more cost in equipment) but lowers your ingredient costs.

AG is simple enough, so if you are so inclined I'd make the jump.
Fred Bonjour
Co-Chair Mashing in Michigan 2014 AHA Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan
AHA Governing Committee; AHA Conference, Club Support & Web Subcommittees

Everything under 1.100 is a 'session' beer ;)

Offline theDarkSide

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Derry, NH
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2010, 11:38:54 am »
Mufasa would say you're already moving too slow   :D

If you got the money and space, do it...you won't regret it.
Seacoast Homebrew Club - Portsmouth, NH
AHA Member
Stephen Mayo
------------------------------------------------

Offline saintpierre

• Brewer
  • Augusta, ME
    • www.malthomebrewclub.org