Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Newbish Newb on Scaling Down  (Read 691 times)

Offline BotanyGoneBedlam

• 1st Kit
Newbish Newb on Scaling Down
« on: October 26, 2020, 09:29:48 pm »
Hey all!

Man, oh man, I haven't posted on a forum since '04 it feels like! Anywho, I am a newb (for beer, at least). I racked my first beer today (pilsner with 2 row pale malt and light dried malt extract) and so far, hey, it smells like beer, the small sample I took tastes like beer so suffice to say, I may have done something right.

Well, I had an empty carboy, didn't have the honey to make yet another mead and didn't feel like making another cider (so far I have 1 mead, 1 cider, 1 wine, 1 beer going) so I decided to try my hand at making a lager for a friend's dad who just fell out of a tree (he is okay, but he loves lager so I figured I would give it a go). And here is my question...I am not sure if I scaled it down correctly.

I will preface by saying math was never my strong suit in school, unless it was Organic Chemistry, then I was a viking. So, I pretended I was in the lab in college scaling down stuff. I needed a 1 gallon recipe from a 5 gallon recipe so I took the amount of the ingredient, divided it by 5 and shopped according to that. Was this correct?

I ask as well because I notice a lot of the recipes on the website here are 5 gallons and I don't have that capacity, unfortunately.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline Oiscout

• Brewmaster
Re: Newbish Newb on Scaling Down
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2020, 04:46:55 am »
You also mist factor a few things. With your grainbill your not just trying "to make beer" your trying to hit s target gravity which in turn will hit whatever "ABV" your going for in that recipe. Also in my experience and opinion some grains tastes, characteristics and body can sometimes be muddled or non existent or too much in a small batch vs a 5 gallon batch.