Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Using a secondary  (Read 3255 times)

Offline pmoore

• 1st Kit
Using a secondary
« on: December 12, 2020, 08:18:11 am »
I am a beginner and currently have a spiced winter ale happily fermenting in the primary.  I have always moved the beer to a secondary after 5 to 10 days.  I got lazy with this batch and it’s been in the primary for exactly 14 days. I’ve researched this a bit and most sources suggest a secondary isn’t critical but certainly helpful.  I think I’ll just leave it in the primary for another week then keg it.  Any suggestions for how long I can leave it in the primary? Or any other techniques I should consider when not using a secondary?

Offline HopDen

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Using a secondary
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2020, 08:32:26 am »
I am a beginner and currently have a spiced winter ale happily fermenting in the primary.  I have always moved the beer to a secondary after 5 to 10 days.  I got lazy with this batch and it’s been in the primary for exactly 14 days. I’ve researched this a bit and most sources suggest a secondary isn’t critical but certainly helpful.  I think I’ll just leave it in the primary for another week then keg it.  Any suggestions for how long I can leave it in the primary? Or any other techniques I should consider when not using a secondary?

If it is done fermenting and I would assume it is after 14 days also assuming you have checked the FG, keg it now.

Offline pmoore

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2020, 08:33:40 am »
Thanks for the response

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2020, 08:49:25 am »
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe