Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Looking for Mead advice.  (Read 1190 times)

Offline SlaptickBrews

• 1st Kit
Looking for Mead advice.
« on: December 26, 2020, 09:18:10 am »
I'm fairly new to this trade, and I felt it was time to get some answers from peeps in the field. I made my first homebrew back in late October(Made a crowd pleasing Dunkel for friends and family, it was a rave at Thanksgiving). Anyway, I'm interested in trying some smaller batches of Mead as well. I've done my fair share of reading, but I would just generally love some best practices and general advice from people with experience. And/or what are some great recipes for small batches?

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
Re: Looking for Mead advice.
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2020, 10:17:21 am »
Here are a few tips that I have learned along the way.
1. No need to boil the honey. In fact, I think boiling it loses some of the aromatics and flavor.
2. Staggered nutrient additions for the first 3-4 days.
4. Back sweeten to desired sweetness level after fermentation is complete. Use potassium sorbate to not start up fermentation again.
5. Mead doesn’t need to aged for a year or more to be enjoyable. It can be nice and drinkable after a few months.
I tend to prefer fruit/berry meads the best and I usually add the same amount of fruit per pound as honey. For yeast I always use 71-B, but many others work fine as well. I have just started making a lower gravity “session” mead the last year that is very simple. I got the idea from a Chop and Brew video with Steve Flagerty. It uses about 8.5 lbs of honey for a 4.5 gallon batch that I put in a keg and carbonate.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dan Chisholm

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2020, 01:00:24 pm »