Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: brew house efficiency for no sparge  (Read 2811 times)

Offline scrap iron

• Assistant Brewer
  • K.C.
brew house efficiency for no sparge
« on: January 10, 2021, 08:17:51 am »
I have been using some low oxygen methods for the past 2+ years. Some of the methods include boiling the total mash water, no sparge, underletting the mash with treated water and making a floating mash cap. These methods have improved the quality of the beer and extended their self life from previous methods I used. In making these changes my brewhouse efficiency has dropped from about 78-80% to about 64 to 66%. I was wondering what others are getting for no sparge methods? I am getting ph ranges from 5.3 to 5.4 checked with a Milwaukee 101 meter calibrated before every brew for lighter colored beers and 5.4 to 5.5 for dark ones at room temp reads.

I pressure can starters for future use and when I need more I sparge a gallon+ of RO water. I get enough wort at about 1.030 SG to can a gallon so this helps. I was also thinking about pari-gyle brewing but hadn't got that far yet. Thoughts?

Mike F.                                                                              “I am a firm believer in the people. If given the truth, they can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts, and beer.”

Abraham Lincoln

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2021, 08:24:46 am »
One of the downsides of no sparge is a loss of efficiency. As with any technique, the pros have to outweigh the cons for you. It’s all a balancing compromise between benefits vs detriment.

About the only thing you can do is add grain and/or ensure your mill is closed down just shy of the point of a stuck lauter to hit your OG.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 08:32:18 am by BrewBama »

Offline erockrph

• I must live here