Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Honey Brown Ale - First Brew PHOTOS - Would like some opinions?  (Read 1298 times)

Offline SCBeerDude7

• 1st Kit
Honey Brown Ale - First Brew PHOTOS - Would like some opinions?
« on: February 10, 2021, 12:23:58 pm »
My first Brew.  Main issue is that it's still bubbling 1 bubble every 30 seconds through my 3-piece airlock after 10.5 days.  Some funky looking bubbles or foam on top.  I'm wondering if this is normal since I'm not experienced.  My intention is to just leave this in the primary for a total of 3-5 weeks, then transfer it to a bottling bucket for priming and bottling.  Then bottle condition for 2-4 weeks before drinking.

All info is below including photos.  I want to refrain from taking another gravity reading until week 2 or 3 or at least when the bubbling stops to minimize contamination risks.

Beer Type:  Honey Brown Ale

Ingredients:
FERMENTABLES
3 lb. Light DME  (Added at the beginning of the Boil - Turned burner off while stirring it in)
2 lb. Wildflower Honey (added at the last 15 minutes of the boil)

SPECIALTY GRAINS  (Steeped at 160°F for 20 minutes)
4 oz. Chocolate Barley
4 oz. Honey
4 oz. Munich Light
4 oz. Carapils

HOPS
2 packs 1 oz. UK Fuggle (First pack boiled for 60 minutes and the second round for 25 minutes)

YEAST
1 Sachet Safale S-04 (Pitched dry and directly on top of the wort @72°F, then the whole setup was moved to the garage and maintained at 62°F)

OTHER
Super Irish Moss HB (5oz of boiled, then cooled water, then added 1/4 tsp to it and shook for 5 minutes.  Then added to wort in the final 15 minutes of the boil)
North Mountain Supply Yeast Nutrient.  Added 5 tsp to wort at 72°F and before pitching the yeast.

Wort cooled in an ice bath after boiling.  Got to 72°F in about 25-30 minutes.
Wort OG @ 72°F = 1.050

Equipment:
6 Gallon glass carboy
3-piece airlock with #6.5 stopper
Thermowell for constant temp monitoring
Inkbird 2 stage controller