Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water treatment and Beer Clarity  (Read 1095 times)

Offline Khamp

• 1st Kit
Water treatment and Beer Clarity
« on: January 23, 2021, 10:26:22 am »
I'm new to water chemistry and treating my water (RO) with brewing salts. I have done a few batches so far but all have been dark beers I will be making a Cali Common this weekend so It'll be on the lighter side. My question is: If your treated water is cloudy before the brew will you be able to get clear beer? I treat the water the night before and shake the 5 gal jugs a few times hours apart to let everything get into solution and it is quite cloudy the next day before the brew.
Thanks!

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: Water treatment and Beer Clarity
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2021, 10:28:17 am »
It should not be a problem.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2021, 11:12:01 am »
What you're seeing are undissolved salts suspended in the water. Perfectly normal and nothing to be concerned about.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline Bel Air Brewing

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2021, 01:20:09 pm »
We never (NEVER) treat our water. It is city tap water, that is run through a high quality filter.

Our beers are clear, like looking through a window pane. Yes, we use gelatin. But with a bit of aging, the beer would clear naturally.

Offline Richard

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2021, 10:42:27 pm »