Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Recommendations for a 2.5 kit  (Read 2546 times)

Offline meckeard

• 1st Kit
Recommendations for a 2.5 kit
« on: January 28, 2021, 11:29:39 am »
Hi all!  I see a lot of 1 gallon (too small) and 5 gallon (I have) kits but want a 2.5 gallon kit.  The reason is that I feel it's big enough to make a lot of beer but small enough to use without breaking the bank on equipment since I am new to home brewing.  Additionally, I can buy 5 gallon material and split it in half to make it easy.

Ideally I would prefer if it came with an IPA kit (ingredients) but I have no problems buying the materials separately.  Also, I do NOT want a kit that uses extract as I want to experience making it myself.  Most may not enforce that but I wanted to mention it just in case.  Basically something with everything I need except the basic stuff like cleaner, bottles, etc.

Does anyone have any recommendations? 

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2021, 12:38:38 pm »
If you can’t find 2.5 gal kits I recommend finding a recipe you like and buying ingredients to to brew it. If the recipe you are interested in is based on a different volume, simply scale it up/down using percentages. Brewing software makes this task easy but it can be done easily enough by hand.

For example: (notice no weights or volumes are listed. This could be for 1 gal or 50 bbl. Likewise, techniques such as mash schedule, mash method, sparge method, etc or mash and brewhaus efficiency are all brewery independent to reach your goal)

1.056 OG

93% Pale Ale malt
7% C60

20 IBU Cascade @ 60
10 IBU Cascade @ 10
10 IBU Cascade @ 5

American Ale Yeast

Cascade dry hop for 3 days (optional)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: January 28, 2021, 12:49:32 pm by BrewBama »

Offline meckeard

• 1st Kit
Re: Recommendations for a 2.5 kit