Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Back of Throat resin taste in light beers  (Read 533 times)

Offline Peter Batt

• 1st Kit
Back of Throat resin taste in light beers
« on: April 21, 2023, 03:28:18 am »
Hi

I wonder if you can help me with troubleshooting my beer all grain beer tastes.  I am Uk resident mainly using Maris otter as base grain rather than US 2-row.  I have been brewing all grain for about 10 years, I currently use a Grainfather G40 and Brewzilla Gen 4 , I previously used SS brewtech 10 gal mash tun and 15 gal boiler kettle.

I have recently (last 2 years) being getting batches of my lighter beers (US style IPA mainly) that a have sharp resinous taste at the back of my throat. I really do not like that taste and whilst the beer is not "off" I end up throwing it away. Can anyone suggest what that taste is attributed to and how I can stop it. I always thought it was hops in the boil but I am not sure having experimented  a bit with that.   

My darker, Stouts and "bitter" beers are fine and whilst some are "bitter" they do not leave residual resin type taste at the back of my throat.

Typically  I am using 50-60g of bittering hops in IPAs per 45l of pre-boil~38-40 litres of actual fermentable wort.

Many Thanks for any assistance you can offer

Best regards Pete

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Back of Throat resin taste in light beers
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2023, 05:41:13 am »
Do you know the alkalinity of your water? My guess is that it is high since you say the dark beers turn out fine. Darker malts are more acidic so they lower the pH of the mash. You might try diluting your tap water with distilled or RO water 50/50 ratio and see if that helps.