Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: AMOUNT OF BREWING WATER  (Read 968 times)

Offline WEEGE

• 1st Kit
AMOUNT OF BREWING WATER
« on: January 31, 2021, 03:43:17 pm »
Hi and thanks for being here:
I'm new to all grain, I have been Extract brewing off and on for years and have loved every minute of it but now i think I want to Make the Jump to all grain, and am looking forward to it but I have a Question I can't seem to find the answer to so I am looking to the great minds that reside here for an answer.
I understand the 1.25-1.5 Qts/Lb.of grain and the 60-90 minute mash, but why can't I fill my 20Gal. HLT and start at approx. 167Deg.fill the mash tun then raise the temp to 170deg.approx. then start to sparge and stop when I get 7-7.5 gal in the boil kettle and leave whatever is left over in the mash tun and discard
I guess my question is is it that important to have the exact amount of water to sparge with, does it need to come out even??
WEEGE

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Re: AMOUNT OF BREWING WATER
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2021, 05:24:53 pm »
You can do whatever you want and make any adjustments needed in the next batch(es). It would be a lot easier, however, to use brewing software or on line calculators. For questions about your process, you need to define the process if you want specific answers.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2021, 08:29:36 pm »
Hi and thanks for being here:
I'm new to all grain, I have been Extract brewing off and on for years and have loved every minute of it but now i think I want to Make the Jump to all grain, and am looking forward to it but I have a Question I can't seem to find the answer to so I am looking to the great minds that reside here for an answer.