Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bread  (Read 6297 times)

Offline HopDen

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Bread
« Reply #45 on: November 11, 2020, 12:26:01 pm »
I tried the pre-ferment this weekend.  It noticeably changes the character of the bread.

Yeah, since I started doing it I hardly ever do anything else.

i don't want to sound stoopid here but, what is pre-ferment? I have been making dough for over 30 years and I've never heard that word used.

Offline pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma
« Reply #46 on: November 11, 2020, 12:49:36 pm »
I tried the pre-ferment this weekend.  It noticeably changes the character of the bread.

i don't want to sound stoopid here but, what is pre-ferment? I have been making dough for over 30 years and I've never heard that word used.
It means either making the entire dough or a portion of it a day ahead (or more) and retarding the fermentation by refrigerating, generally overnight. This method tends to lead to more of a fermentation character, even if sourdough isn't used. I think it gives a chance for lacto and other bacteria to reproduce. Even though you are not familiar with this term you may be familiar with a poolish (or sponge, a wet pre-ferment) or pate fermente, which is a pre ferment which is pretty much a finished dough, but it is brought up to room temperature and kneaded into a complete dough. In either case commercial yeast is added to both the pre ferment and the final dough.
Don't let the bastards cheer you up.

Offline HopDen

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #47 on: November 11, 2020, 02:41:10 pm »