Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Sourdough Starter  (Read 1122 times)

Offline pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma
Sourdough Starter
« on: September 29, 2020, 05:45:24 am »
I don’t bake much over the summer and let my starter expire. I usually get a new culture from a local artisan bakery but they are still closed due to covid so I want to start my own, something I haven’t done in years. I welcome any advice about this and using starters. I am a former professional chef and avid home cook and have baked literally thousands of loaves of bread but have never been completely satisfied with my sourdough game.
Mark has posted about sourdough starters in the context of insight it has given him about brewing yeast, such as retarded fermentation. I have been dying to pick his brain about sourdoughs but didn’t want to hijack the threads so I am posting here. While I welcome everyone with experience to post I am shamelessly fishing for Mark’s insights here.
I am considering using wild grapes which are ripe now as a yeast source.
Don't let the bastards cheer you up.

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Re: Sourdough Starter
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2020, 10:03:54 am »