Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing pot gave water a metallic taste  (Read 2150 times)

Offline joe_meadmaker

• Brewer
Brewing pot gave water a metallic taste
« on: February 12, 2021, 07:56:06 pm »
In the Other Fermentables category I recently posted a topic that I'm planning to make a snow mead.  I got a good snowfall at my house, and so I melted a bunch in a pot with the intent to make a mead with it tomorrow.  The snow was gathered and melted on Tuesday.  Tonight I tasted the water to make sure it seemed okay, but it had a metallic taste.  I dumped the metallic water, and have a couple other small pots and plenty of snow left in the yard for tomorrow.  But now I'm concerned about my big boiling pot.

It's a 20 gallon pot.  The brand on the bottom is Thunder Group.  Does anyone think I should be concerned about using this pot for brewing?  I've been using it for 8 years or so at this point.  I haven't had any issues (that I'm aware of) with the beer made in it.  Part of me thinks the pot just isn't designed to store water for several days.  I was thinking I would give it a good soak with PBW, but wanted to see if anyone had other thoughts.  Should I abandon this pot and get a new one?

Offline Oiscout

• Brewmaster
Re: Brewing pot gave water a metallic taste
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2021, 08:06:32 pm »
In the Other Fermentables category I recently posted a topic that I'm planning to make a snow mead.  I got a good snowfall at my house, and so I melted a bunch in a pot with the intent to make a mead with it tomorrow.  The snow was gathered and melted on Tuesday.  Tonight I tasted the water to make sure it seemed okay, but it had a metallic taste.  I dumped the metallic water, and have a couple other small pots and plenty of snow left in the yard for tomorrow.  But now I'm concerned about my big boiling pot.