Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: scaling amounts of 5G recipes to 1G BIAB recipes  (Read 1286 times)

Offline John Murphy III

• 1st Kit
scaling amounts of 5G recipes to 1G BIAB recipes
« on: April 28, 2021, 05:30:04 pm »
Hi All,
I am still new at brewing, 15 extract beers into it.  I want to try BIAB, but 1 gallon batches so I can play around with flavors and such.  Does anyone know how to scale down a 5G recipe to a 1G recipe...or am I being stupid and it's as simple as dividing everything by 5.  I only ask because I am a chef and straight division or addition (making recipe bigger) doesn't always work with all ingredients.   Thank you in advance.
Cheers!
john

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: scaling amounts of 5G recipes to 1G BIAB recipes
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2021, 06:19:47 pm »
Hey John. I do this all the time in BeerSmith. 

I would convert the 5 gal extract batch to grain first, then scale from 5 gal grain to 1 gal grain.

Your instincts have served you well because you could get a different efficiency from a 5 gal grain batch and a 1 gal grain batch.

For example, I plan 75% for my HERMS Batch Sparge 5 gal batches but only plan 67% in my 2 gal no sparge batches. If you don’t know your efficiency you’re going to have to wing it until you get an idea of how efficient your processes are.

I’d start with 2-2.5 lbs of crushed grain in a cpl gals of brewhaus liquor as a guess. If it’s high gravity you can add brewhaus liquor to thin it out and if it’s low you can add some sugar, honey, molasses, extract, etc to dial it in.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2021, 07:28:46 pm »