Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: What do you envision when you hear the term "American Wheat"?  (Read 11118 times)

Offline Village Taphouse

• Brewmaster General
  • Ken from Chicago
    • The new Mayfair Court Brewhouse
When I was a newbie homebrewer I ordered (or bought) a kit called American Wheat.  The LME was a mix of wheat and 2-row and there was one hop addition at the start of the boil which was something "neutral" like Willamette or Perle or something.  Not fruity.  Maybe 23-24 IBUs, a medium-gold color, very refreshing and thirst quenching.  The yeast was something like Muntons.  This was probably 18-20 years ago.  That particular recipe design has stuck in my head and over the years I have made similar beers.  In talking with other brewers, they put their spin on it by using fruity hops like Citra or Galaxy, they may late-hop it and some use it as a springboard to add things like fruit, pablano peppers, grains of paradise, etc.  I just drew up a recipe using a mix of Maris Otter, Avangard 2-row and wheat and then hopping it once with US Saaz (Hop Heaven) to about 24 IBUs and I plan to ferment it with 1968 and try like hell to keep the diacetyl at bay.  Who here makes something that they call an "American Wheat" and how do you do it?
Ken from Chicago. 
A day without beer is like... just kidding, I have no idea.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: What do you envision when you hear the term "American Wheat"?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2021, 08:40:14 am »
I don't think I'd call that a typical American wheat.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe