Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Invert Sugar  (Read 9713 times)

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Invert Sugar
« on: March 04, 2021, 10:06:12 am »
I wanted to document my experience making invert sugar.

First, it was very easy. I will never worry about how to source this ingredient again. I will just make it.

Second, I am a novice. I only made basic invert sugar that has a color of about 7-8 SRM. Invert No. 1 is 12–16° L (orange-amber), No. 2. Is 30 to 35° L (amber-bronze), and No. 3 is 60-70° L (reddish black).  I didn’t there for Nos.  1-3.

I primarily used an article from AHA as my guide. https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/beer-food/invert-syrups-making-simple-sugars-complex-beers/

The article cited above tells you “a solution of sugar is heated in the presence of an acid until it reaches 236° F (114° C).” The article goes on to discuss continuing to heat past 236F to get darker colors and more flavorful syrups. The article even discusses taking the boil to hark crack which occurs around 310F.

So, my interpretation of the above was that I could heat past 236F for darker colors and as long I didn’t go too far I would still get workable syrup. Wrong.

I heated to 260F, cooled my syrup, and poured it into a jar. That seemed okay when the syrup was still relatively hot. But, the next day once the syrup had cooled completely it was a very thick sludge. When I turned the jar on its side the syrup didn’t move. I was able to use a spoon and significant muscle to get a spoonful out of the jar.

With invert syrup you can add water and reheat. I also noticed a table on the Invert Sugar Syrup Wikipedia page that listed boil temperature and the water content in the syrup. See below.

SucroseWaterBoiling Point (C)Boiling Point (F)
30%70%100212
40%60%101214
50%50%102216
60%40%103217
70%30%106223
80%20%112234
90%10%123253
95%5%140284
97%3%151304
98.20%1.80%160320