Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Yeasty tasting lager  (Read 1983 times)

Offline Village Taphouse

• Brewmaster General
  • Ken from Chicago
    • The new Mayfair Court Brewhouse
Re: Yeasty tasting lager
« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2021, 10:24:57 am »
I have been using plastic for many years now after shattering multiple 6.5 and 5 gallon glass fermenters.  As many of you know, when they break, they can break into a billion pieces.  The longest I might leave a beer in the fermenter is about 14 days.  Usually that's 10 days.  I think even the LO guys are okay with that timeframe in plastic and I have never noticed a flavor component from the plastic.  I was going to pull the trigger on a stainless fermenter but I couldn't tell if it would fit in my fermenting fridge. 
Ken from Chicago. 
A day without beer is like... just kidding, I have no idea.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2021, 07:11:06 am »
I definitely don't have any problems with plastic fermenters but agree that the beer can't sit in the indefinitely. That is especially true in the case of buckets because the lid doesn't always form a great seal. I've had a few times where I let a beer sit in a bucket too long and ended up having to dump it.

On the PET plastic fermenters as long as the seal is good the beer can sit in a lot longer, maybe even as long as glass.

Regardless 8 weeks in the primary fermenter is probably too long for just about any beer. As was mentioned, the problem could be autolysis or a combination of autolysis and oxidation.

Once the primary fermentation is over a week or two cold crashing should be adequate. If any more clearing is needed it can be done in the package.

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2021, 07:26:25 am »