Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Sorry Guest, you are banned from posting and sending personal messages on this forum.
This ban is set to expire October 13, 2024, 08:19:18 am.

Author Topic: D-47 pitch temp  (Read 1279 times)

Offline Jboyle22

• 1st Kit
D-47 pitch temp
« on: April 25, 2021, 06:37:29 am »
So I am fairly new to the world of mead, and I am attempting a basic mead. Honey, water, yeast. I went with D-47. The packet says to rehydrate between 95 and 98.6 Fahrenheit. I went with about 96 degrees. I pitched in the must around 83 degrees. It is now day 2 and I still have no signs of fermentation. Did I kill the yeast? Or maybe it was bad from the start?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2021, 07:39:14 am by Jboyle22 »

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: D-47 pitch temp
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2021, 07:39:51 am »
Are you sure your thermometer is accurate? Overheating your yeast will definitely kill a lot of cells.

Also, how are you determining whether you are seeing signs of fermentation? If you're fermenting in a bucket and it isn't properly sealed, then air may be going out of the lid instead of the airlock. Also, mead does not produce a large head of krausen the way beer does.

If you're doing a staggered nutrient addition,  then it should foam up considerably when you add the nutrients. That's a telltale sign that fermentation is going on. If nothing happens then I'd pitch another pack of yeast. Rehydrate that one in room temperature water or just sprinkle it in to avoid cooking that one (in case that was the problem).

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline Jboyle22

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2021, 08:15:50 am »