Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Trying to avoid the Helles aftertaste.  (Read 1590 times)

Offline brutusbird

• 1st Kit
Trying to avoid the Helles aftertaste.
« on: April 26, 2021, 04:32:45 pm »
So I am new to brewing (so far so good) and there is a flavor profile I am trying to avoid. Helles aftertaste. I am concerned that I might use an ingredient that will land that flavor in my beer. Basically what I am saying is that I don't know if it comes from hops, malt or yeast. I refer to it as the Heineken aftertaste. I know its popular but it is just not for me.

Offline RC

• Brewmaster
Re: Trying to avoid the Helles aftertaste.
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2021, 05:07:55 pm »
Your referencing Heineken makes me think you're talking about the skunky taste often found in that beer in the U.S. That comes from exposing the beer to UV light (i.e. sunlight), which cleaves a fragment off of a certain hop molecule, and this fragment causes that flavor. Keep your beer out of direct sunlight and you won't get that off-flavor. It's called skunked or lightstruck.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2021, 07:22:34 pm »
Your referencing Heineken makes me think you're talking about the skunky taste often found in that beer in the U.S. That comes from exposing the beer to UV light (i.e. sunlight), which cleaves a fragment off of a certain hop molecule, and this fragment causes that flavor. Keep your beer out of direct sunlight and you won't get that off-flavor. It's called skunked or lightstruck.