Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: CO2 Shortage  (Read 1631 times)

Offline narcout

• Brewmaster General
  • Los Angeles, CA
CO2 Shortage
« on: May 19, 2021, 10:51:31 am »
I was just at Airgas, and there was a sign up about a country wide CO2 shortage.  The guy said I was lucky to have come in when I did as they only just got a shipment of 10 lb. tanks after several weeks of not having any.  Apparently production has been down due to COVID.  I had not heard of this, but I only started brewing again after a 1.5 year hiatus so maybe this is common knowledge.   

Fortunately, a tank lasts me about 5 months.
Sometimes you just can't get enough - JAMC

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: CO2 Shortage
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2021, 11:08:11 am »
I hadn’t heard about it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2021, 11:10:12 am »
I was just at Airgas, and there was a sign up about a country wide CO2 shortage.  The guy said I was lucky to have come in when I did as they only just got a shipment of 10 lb. tanks after several weeks of not having any.  Apparently production has been down due to COVID.  I had not heard of this, but I only started brewing again after a 1.5 year hiatus so maybe this is common knowledge.   

When COVID first hit, there were supposedly CO2 shortages everywherem but when I checked itmwas readily available here and many other places although obviously there was a problem in some places.  Vvutrently its readily available here and there is no talk of a shortage.  Do you suppose it could be regional?
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe