Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First time brewer question - Belgian Tripel  (Read 1186 times)

Offline exploid94

• 1st Kit
First time brewer question - Belgian Tripel
« on: June 07, 2021, 08:56:14 am »
Hello community,

I'm new to homebrewing and have been trying to learn as much as I can about the process. I actually brewed my first time yesterday, it's a Belgian Tripel. I bought the ingredient kit from brewers best. I followed all the steps and watched along with videos to make sure what i was doing was correct. I transferred my wort to the fermenting bucket and started fermenting last night. I was doing more research and i'm finding my OG reading was 1.092, added corrected 0.002 as temp was 77degrees F, which apparently was high.

I was wondering if the OG was too high, even though it's suppose to be on the higher side. I was hoping to get an apv of around the 8.5%-9% range but the estimated calculations i've done set me around 9.5%-10% apv.

If my readings are too high, would I be able to add boiled water to bring it down a bit when i transfer to the carboy for secondary fermentation or would it throw the flavors off?

Since i started at a higher OG, does that mean i need to stop at a higher FG than what was described, or is this the wrong method? I feel i'm just being a little paranoid but wanted to ask around. Thanks in advance!

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: First time brewer question - Belgian Tripel
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2021, 08:59:42 am »
IMO, the key to tripel is not high OG, its low FG.  I shoot for a 1.076 OG and around 1.006 FG.  My last one came in around 1.084 so I added water to get it down to where I wanted it.  Turned out great.  And BTW skip the secondary.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com