Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: age mead on a keg?0  (Read 1625 times)

Offline copachino

• Cellarman
age mead on a keg?0
« on: June 12, 2021, 10:10:07 pm »
hi all, i got some spare corny kegs that im not using and willing to sacrified for mead aging, but i have some doubts, as i know cornys close the lid due the CO2 pressure so i have to top off with some pressure right?, but what makes me think its if that pressure leave for some reason the keg that will expose the mead to any nasty stuff or to oxidazed?, with my room temperature about 85 to 90s i dont think that the gas will enter so easy on the mead but i believe i will have to degass since i pretend to age still mead

Offline Drewch

• Brewmaster
  • Just this guy, you know?
Re: age mead on a keg?0
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2021, 03:14:41 pm »

I'm not an expert on kegging but I think your assessment is probably about right.  You could age in Corny kegs, but you'd need to check periodically to make sure they're maintaining a slight positive pressure to ensure a good seal on the lid.  Someone who does more (or any) kegging could probably give you a more detailed answer.

Do you intend to serve from the keg or are you planning to bottle the mead?  If you plan to bottle eventually, I think there's at least rough consensus on the internet that (as long as fermentation is truly complete ... stable FG for several days) there's no serious downside to bottling now and aging in the bottles.  You might wind up with a little more sediment in the bottles than if you bulk aged and then bottled, but you wouldn't have to worry about pressure drop.
The Other Drew

Home fermentations since 2019.

Member at large of the Central Alabama Brewers Society and the League of Drews.

Offline nateo

• Brewmaster General
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2021, 06:29:35 pm »