Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: kegging problem  (Read 784 times)

Offline James Yuells

• 1st Kit
kegging problem
« on: June 24, 2021, 05:11:24 pm »
I'm new at kegging.

I kegged a batch, which I had dry hopped. When I tried to tap the keg, nothing happened. I think the hops might have clogged the dip tube. I'm going to depressurize the keg, clean out the tube, and trim it by about an inch. Does this sound like a good course of action? Could it be some other problem?

Let me know

Offline Village Taphouse

• Brewmaster General
  • Ken from Chicago
    • The new Mayfair Court Brewhouse
Re: kegging problem
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2021, 05:17:17 pm »
So the beer is carbed and connected to a CO2 tank and the tank is on but there are hop pellets on the bottom of the keg?  When you say "nothing happened", did you feel like there was something that happened (like you got a bit of pressure first and THEN everything stopped?) or literally nothing?  I don't add hops to my kegs so this is out of my experience but I have had my beer lines come too close to the capillaries on the back of the serving fridge and actually cause a small frozen spot in the beer line.  I know that it's not a CO2 issue because that happens over time and I know it's not an empty keg situation because that usually results in a yeasty blowout.  Shortening the dip tube sounds fine especially if you plan to do this a lot but the other thing you could do is place the hops in a muslin bag so they're contained and you could also tie a piece of thread to the bag and run it up through the hatch so it won't sink.  That would keep your diptube opening clear.  Even if you shorten the dip tube, loose pellets in the keg are going to find their way in there. 
Ken from Chicago. 
A day without beer is like... just kidding, I have no idea.

Offline Megary

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2021, 05:31:45 pm »
+1