Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Blow out tubing?  (Read 4586 times)

Offline tomservo77

• 1st Kit
Blow out tubing?
« on: September 04, 2010, 07:29:09 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm new at this, and I'm currently working on my fourth batch, an IPA. I have my beer fermenting in a five gallon carboyl.  This is the first time I have made this volume of beer and I haven't needed a blow out system prior.  Low and behold, this morning, I found a large amount of foam in the fermenter and plenty of it intermittently spewing out of the s airlock.  Should I just let it go, or am I screwed because of contamination? Thanks for your help.

Offline rbclay

• Assistant Brewer
  • Northfield, MN
Re: Blow out tubing?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2010, 08:03:31 pm »
You're fine. You should get yourself a blow off tube. Here's the description:

Pre-cut 3.5ft. section of clear 1" OD vinyl tubing. Fits directly in the neck of standard or acid-style glass carboys. immerse the other end in a bucket of sanitizer to manage blowoff during primary fermentation.

Also, sanitize the end you are sticking in the carboy. You may already be past the point of needing this. In the future you may want to consider using a 6 or 6.5 gallon carboy or plastic fermenter (bucket) for primary and use the 5 gallon carboy for secondary.
Without knowing what your first couple batches were, I'm guessing this IPA was the highest OG batch you've done so far. I say you're fine because with a vigorous fermentation like this it is pushing out enough CO2 that you don't really have to worry about contamination. The worst that might happen is the airlock getting clogged and pressure building up and smashing your carboy, which could have been really dangerous. But that would have already happened and it didn't because you said it is spraying out the top of the airlock. I think the airlock would probably pop out before the glass would break.