Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brand new to this  (Read 1783 times)

Offline redrocker652002

• Brewmaster
Brand new to this
« on: August 02, 2021, 02:36:29 pm »
Hey guys and gals, I am brand new to all of this so I am soaking it all in.  I live in South San Francisco CA.  56 Years old, married with two adult kids.  I love IPA most, but am willing to try and experience what you all have.  My wife has given me the go ahead, so off I went.  Jumped into the deep end, bought a small fridge that had been converted into a kegerator and all parts used.  Bought a brew kit from a local place so I could talk to the guy there and learn some things from him as well.  I cleaned everything with PBW before I started and StarSan all the parts that touched the beer the day of the kegging.  I tasted the warm uncarbonated brew and it wasn't too bad, so my hope is that with some bubbles and being cold it will be good.

I have put my first batch into the keg and it is currently soaking up CO2 and getting ready to drink.  I cleaned my fermentor, a plastic bucket I got from a homebrew place near me, with just soap and water.  I soaked the siphon hose in the soap and water as well.  Not much seem to be sticking, and my thought is the next batch I will brew will probably not be for a while.  Am I ok with just soap and water right now?  I then let it all air dry and put it in the closet covered up.  My boil kettle and spoon were also run thru the dishwasher as they are simply just a pot and metal spoon.

When my current keg is empty my plan is to hit it with some hot water and PBW to loosen up what may be stuck on the keg (including removing the valves and pickup tube), rinse and repeat.  Let it air dry and close it up