Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pellet VS Whole Cone Hops  (Read 3640 times)

Offline redrocker652002

• Brewmaster
Pellet VS Whole Cone Hops
« on: October 07, 2021, 11:41:43 am »
My first attempt was a kit, so I think they had the pellet hops, but I don't remember.  My second attempt is buying ingredients and doing it myself, kinda.  LOL.  I was lucky enough that a member here provided me with a recipe to try, so I went to my local MoreBeer and ordered everything.  I ordered whole cone hops I believe, but now am wondering if I should have done pellets instead.  Any input on differences and when pellet's are more appropriate?  Again, I am very new to this and trying to learn as much as I can.  Thank you in advance.  RR

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Pellet VS Whole Cone Hops
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2021, 12:09:29 pm »
Living in the PNW I started off as a whole hop snob.  As I progressed inbreeding, I learned that pellets are almost always better quality than whole.  These days I almost never use whole hops.  I have found that pellets give me better quality.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Richard

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2021, 12:52:47 pm »