Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Co-pitching US-05 and S-04  (Read 2872 times)

Offline Saccharomyces

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Deus ex machina
Co-pitching US-05 and S-04
« on: October 12, 2021, 05:31:05 pm »
Has anyone co-pitched US-05 and S-04?  I picked up a package of each while doing my domestic base malt run yesterday.   I wonder if the combination would have the attenuation level of US-05 and the flocculation of S-04?  I know how to keep S-04 in check, but I want a fruity beer with a dry finish and S-04 tends to poop out at 75% AA.  I want 80% AA.  That is not difficult with US-05.

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
Re: Co-pitching US-05 and S-04
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2021, 05:46:03 pm »
I have never used both before at the same time. I never cared for S-04 and haven’t used it in over 10 years. I used S-05 much more, but not recently. I always got 80% or higher attenuation with 05. Not sure how it would work in tandem with O4, but sounds like an interesting experiment.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dan Chisholm

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2021, 06:07:10 pm »
I have been using Brutzyme to lower my FG.  I haven’t used it with -04 yet but I can vouch for it with Bry-97.

The MoreBeer pitch: “Amyloglucosidase, alpha amylase, and pullulanase enable the hydrolysis of starch and dextrins into fermentable sugars that yeast can ferment.”

It definitely dries the beer out. The results are crisp and clean. I am getting ~90%+AA which allows me to start lower so I get a low(er) carb beer. The Festbier I have on tap is ~8g carbs per 12 oz for a ~5% beer. My amber on deck is ~7g carbs in a 12 oz pour for a ~6% ABV beer.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: October 12, 2021, 07:27:35 pm by BrewBama »

Offline dmtaylor

• Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living