Wash the hops?

Yes
0 (0%)
No
6 (66.7%)
Doesn't matter
3 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 8

Author Topic: Hops and bugs  (Read 5484 times)

Offline glennsorrentino

• 1st Kit
Hops and bugs
« on: September 16, 2018, 03:33:23 pm »
Hi all - I've been growing hops in my backyard for a few years now, and I've learned that the vines LOVE attracting stuff - bugs, dirt, spider webs, other airborne things...

I just pulled a bunch down, and as I was, lots of particulates were also coming off of them. Looking at the leaves, and then the hops, there are A LOT of aphids and other living creatures.

I've read on this forum and others not to wash your hops - but I want to ask again - should I wash the hops? I  sprayed down the rest of the hops on the vine to see if this helps when I pull down more later. If I shouldn't wash them, should they be trashed? You can see in the image below pretty clearly the level of infestation I'm finding...

« Last Edit: September 16, 2018, 04:22:18 pm by glennsorrentino »

Offline RC

• Brewmaster
Re: Hops and bugs
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2018, 10:37:56 pm »
I suggest not washing the hops but rather freezing them first. Freeze them good. That should kill most of the living things on them, especially the aphids, and they'll then be safer to use.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2018, 08:44:58 am »
I guarantee you that no hop producer washes their hops.  Especially if you intend to dry them before using, it's unnecessary.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline James K

• Brewer
  • Flagstaff, AZ