Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pectic enzyme into secondary?  (Read 3241 times)

Offline ANDREW.GROGAN1

• Assistant Brewer
Pectic enzyme into secondary?
« on: November 24, 2021, 06:01:27 am »
I have been making cider for several years.  I don't overthink it.  I do 1 month in primary with yeast nutrient and pectic enzyme.  After a month, I put it into secondary for another month or 2 to allow more stuff to fall out (I like clear-ish) cider.  My question is, does it make sense to add more pectic enzyme when it goes to secondary?  I always have been now I am wondering if I am getting anything from that.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Pectic enzyme into secondary?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2021, 08:03:28 am »
My pectic enzyme says to add it pre fermentation.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2021, 11:49:08 am »
Pectic enzymes are intended to be added at the start of primary because alcohol inhibits the enzyme although some are resistant to this inhibition. Anyway I've never added pectic enzyme to the secondary unless I forgot to add it in primary.  My ciders have always dropped clear.

Offline joe_meadmaker

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2021, 03:19:05 pm »