Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Is Acetalaldehyde actually dangerous?  (Read 2111 times)

Offline Bevel

• 1st Kit
  • Bevel
Is Acetalaldehyde actually dangerous?
« on: December 11, 2021, 02:35:23 pm »
Trying to figure out what I’m doing that is causing (I think) acetal in my beer. I’m not good at identifying which off flavor is which but I *think* it might be green apples. I also don’t like green apples so I don’t taste them often lol. Anyway, wondering if if my beer is tainted with acetal, is it actually any danger or just an off flavor. If it’s not dangerous I’ll drink it anyway. Obviously aced talk in certain doses can be cancerous but could it be harmful at all in amounts found a beer or is it too small an amount?  Thanks!

Offline stpug

• Brewmaster
Re: Is Acetalaldehyde actually dangerous?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2021, 04:03:09 pm »
acetaldehyde is more of a freshly carved pumpkin OR green bell pepper OR under-ripe apple character - less overtly "apple".

Red/Green apple and/or "cidery" is more often an oxidative or recipe issue.

Offline fredthecat

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2021, 04:56:29 pm »
Trying to figure out what I’m doing that is causing (I think) acetal in my beer. I’m not good at identifying which off flavor is which but I *think* it might be green apples. I also don’t like green apples so I don’t taste them often lol. Anyway, wondering if if my beer is tainted with acetal, is it actually any danger or just an off flavor. If it’s not dangerous I’ll drink it anyway. Obviously aced talk in certain doses can be cancerous but could it be harmful at all in amounts found a beer or is it too small an amount?  Thanks!

what is your rough process? how long do you let it ferment? are you adding enough yeast?

acetaldehyde indicates a problem with the fermentation, and generally shouldnt be in a beer at levels where you notice it constantly.