Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wyeast 1469 and Final Gravity  (Read 1437 times)

Offline SteveWGB

• 1st Kit
Wyeast 1469 and Final Gravity
« on: January 16, 2022, 01:19:48 pm »
Good Afternoon all!
This is my first time using Wyeast 1469, and I seem to have experienced a very fast fermentation. I pitched at 68 and let it rise to 71. I am fermenting in a long and shallow rectangular pan that is uncovered inside my chest freezer that I use as a fermentation chamber. My original gravity was 1.051 on both my TILT and my refractometer. In 36 hours, the TILT read 1.015. 24 hours after that, it read 1.011. My refractometer reads 1.026, though I understand that might not be the actual gravity reading. My questions are these:

Does this yeast normally work this quick?
Does the shape of the pan have anything to do with the speed? What about the temperature?
Is there a trusted calculator I should use to determine final gravity withy refractometer?

Thanks in advance for any and all help you might offer.

Cheers!
Steve

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Wyeast 1469 and Final Gravity
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2022, 02:00:00 pm »
Many (most?) English yeasts complete the fermentation within 48 hours.  No surprise there.

Temperature helped.

Your refractometer is reading exactly as expected.  Enter your Brix numbers into the following calculator (I assume about 12.6 and 6.3?), and you'll get almost the same answer as your Tilt.

https://www.brewersfriend.com/refractometer-calculator/

That being said... the Tilt is not known for being as accurate at the end of fermentation when a lot of protein, yeast, and hop debris are stuck to it.  Your actual FG might in fact range anywhere from 1.009 to 1.011, or maybe even another point outside of that range.  Only way to know for sure is using a traditional hydrometer.