Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Beer Temps  (Read 1658 times)

Offline redrocker652002

• Brewmaster
Beer Temps
« on: January 05, 2022, 08:59:52 am »
Howdy all.  I was doing a bit of reading and realized my beer was coming out a bit cold.  35 or so.  I have adjusted my temp in my kegerator and now the IPA is coming out at about 40 or so.  Man, what a difference.  The flavors are much more apparent.  It has been sitting in the keg for about two weeks as well, and I am sure that has something to do with it.  I have read that IPA's should be served at about 45, so I am going to raise the temp in the kegerator a bit and see what happens.  But, I have to learn that with beer making, patience is a virtue.  LOL.   Anyway, sorry to post what most probably see as obvious, but I am still learning.  RR

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Beer Temps
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2022, 09:58:06 am »
That’s one of the big complaints Brits have concerning American beer. They say it’s too cold to taste. They insist ’cellar temps’ presents better taste. Americans complain Brits serve their beer at room temp. Of course, most American beer doesn’t have any taste

I am in a take what I get situation. I cold crash/condition/lager in the keg using the freezer side of a side-by-side at about 32*F. I serve from the fridge side. The fridge side isn’t directly cooled. It uses bleed air from the freezer side. I serve ~40-45*F

Bier bewusst genießen

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: January 05, 2022, 10:04:35 am by BrewBama »

Offline Megary

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Beer Temps
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2022, 11:28:17 am »
I've become a bit more "awake" to serving temperature recently.  I definitely prefer most beers at ≈ 45°F, though some styles - like an English Porter - I prefer about 5-10° warmer.  I'm not a big lager drinker, though I do prefer them a bit colder, say around 40°.