Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: CO2 water vs beer  (Read 1145 times)

Offline Bevel

• 1st Kit
  • Bevel
CO2 water vs beer
« on: January 05, 2022, 07:36:47 pm »
Here’s a question I can’t find the answer to:

If sparkling water is carbonated to about 35-40 psi, which is way more than beer, and folks here say a 5# CO2 tank should last 2-4 kegs of beer, would you blow through a 5# CO2 tank carbonating a keg of sparkling water? How many corny kegs of water would a tank carbonate?

I’m new to keg life and am currently typing with two hands and rolling a keg of water on the floor with my foot, so I guess I will find out soon enough but thought I’d ask!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Re: CO2 water vs beer
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2022, 08:50:00 pm »
I don't know who said 5# of CO2 will only last for 2 to 4 Corny kegs of beer, but they're either mistaken or using most of the CO2 for something other than carbonating and serving. I use CO2 to push Starsan out of kegs and push beer into kegs and still carbonate and serve 6 or 7 Cornies with 5#.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2022, 09:19:55 pm »
I keep carbonated water on tap always and definitely get through way more than two to four five gallon kegs out of a five pound tank. I'm not sure exactly how may I get but by my rough calculation of how often I fill tanks I must be getting seven or eight per five pound CO2 tank. I carb at 30-35 and push at 20-25. I fill kegs around 4.5 gallons because I don't seem to get good carbonation until there's around four gallons left so filling to five gets a gallon of cold barely carbonated water and four good gallons.