Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing software?  (Read 1709 times)

Offline Haminacan

• 1st Kit
Brewing software?
« on: January 15, 2022, 04:07:39 pm »
   I am new to brewing and am not quite a software developer, in my 40's and 3 classes away from BS Computer Engineering.  I do Java programming for work and embedded systems testing along with some programming of embedded systems.  I was going to start on some software/hardware to track and monitor/datalog brewing with the plan of making it all open/free for anyone to use.  The plan so far is a Java GUI and one of my final classes is Android development so an Android app with wifi enabled ESP8266 for temperature logging of each brew.  What I am looking for is input as to what should be included in the software/hardware.  Drop down boxes for brew type, date stamp for each entry, large note section.  The ability to look up past brews.  What would the brewing community like to see in something like this.  PS, I have not looked much at what software may already exist.  I am doing this partly as a class final project and as a demonstration to prospective employers.  PPS, I had my first cider finish last weekend and it was great.  Currently I have 8 one gallon carboys going with 4 probably ready to rack tomorrow.  3 meads, 2 grape juice wines, 2 more ciders and a cran-raspberry juice thing.

Offline Drewch

• Brewmaster
  • Just this guy, you know?
Re: Brewing software?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2022, 05:54:37 pm »
Brew father and BeerSmith have free/trial versions. You could take a look them for an idea of what's already out there.  They have pretty different interfaces but perform a lot of the same calculations.