Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: question about rims tubes  (Read 661 times)

Offline copachino

• Cellarman
question about rims tubes
« on: January 21, 2022, 07:21:08 am »
hi all, im new to a tre vessel system, i just got a brewers hardware pilot system with 20 gallon kettle and a rims tube,
i just made my first brew, and i wasnt that good, i got around 50% efficiency and got stuck mashmany many times, all looked like the grain bed was compacted way too much, so maybe my flow was too high?, also i didnt buy the sparge arm, so im not sure if that may be a problem too

Offline KellerBrauer

• Brewmaster
  • Bottoms Up!
Re: question about rims tubes
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2022, 07:47:17 am »
Im not real familiar with a RIMs system, but a couple things can cause a stuck mash. 1) if the bed gets compacted.  I like to keep the water about 1-1/2” above the grain bed.  2) the ratio of grain to husk in the mash.  Much of the ratio is based on a few factors as well.  For example, if you’re grain bill contains a lot of wheat.  Also, the grain crush can play a factor — how was it milled?
« Last Edit: January 21, 2022, 07:48:53 am by KellerBrauer »
Joliet, IL

All good things come to those who show patients and perseverance while maintaining a positive and progressive attitude. 😉

Online ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2022, 07:53:53 am »
I am willing to bet that it was recirc rate - too high.  It should just maintain levels - equillobrate, essentially.  Some suggest stirring the top 1/3 of the mash every 10- 15 minutes.  Also, don't start the recirc right away - give it 10-15 minutes after dough in is complete and well stirred to begin.
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
question about rims tubes
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2022, 08:31:04 am »