Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Diacetyl Rest do-over?  (Read 1049 times)

Offline ScallyWag

• Assistant Brewer
Diacetyl Rest do-over?
« on: January 29, 2022, 10:28:25 am »
I am in the process of making a couple of lagers as part of a split-batch experiment; one is Diamond Lager and the other is S-189.  Both were fermented for 10 days at 52F (climbing to 54F through their own metabolic heat, then dropping back to 52F on their own), and had both completed chewing up their sugars. (I'm guessing they were done at 6-8 days, but I gave them a few extra days.)

After 10 days, I raised the temperature to 60F for the diacetyl rest, for about 48 hours.  Then, into the fridge where they are now, at 35F.

Now, this is my very first attempt at a lager...  and I'm second-guessing myself.  Did I raise the temp high enough (and long enough) for the D-rest?  And how would I know?  I don't detect any sulfur smells, but I don't know if that is probative necessarily, and I don't have enough experience to know if I would know.

Also, would it be bad/good for me to pull them out of the fridge, let them free rise slowly back up to 55F or so, then put them into a 65F-ish area for a few more days to make sure the D-rest is complete?

Or should I just leave them at 35F for a long time an patiently wait/trust?

I'm not much of a connoisseur, and it should probably be drinkable (for me) regardless, but I do like it when my beers surprise me with great quality.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Diacetyl Rest do-over?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2022, 11:31:42 am »
If the beer doesn't taste or smell like diacetyl then you don't need a diacetyl rest.

Your temp was definitely high enough. Possibly long enough it just depends. I normally start my lagers off cold (48-52) and then finish the fermentation at around 58 until it is finished.

Offline denny

• Administrator