Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Best Mashing/Brew System  (Read 5037 times)

Offline Jacky Rice

• 1st Kit
Best Mashing/Brew System
« on: January 30, 2022, 08:22:36 pm »
Hello,

I'm looking for my next step in brewing. I have been homebrewing for a few years now, but I have done very little all-grain brewing. The all-grain I have done has been brew in a bag, which is a pain. I'm highly interested in the science behind brewing and looking for a system that requires me to be closely involved in the brewing process.

I was wondering about getting something like the Grainfather, BrewZilla, or anything like that, as recommended by a friend who also brews. For the longest time I was set on converting a cooler into a mash-tun, but these all mashing systems seem great. I want something that has me involved in the brewing process and that is highly efficient. Please let me know the pros and cons of the systems you guys have any recommendations.

Offline redrocker652002

• Brewmaster
Re: Best Mashing/Brew System
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2022, 08:37:31 pm »
I'm still in the newbie class, and like you, I was thinking of converting a Igloo cooler to a mash tun.  What little I have looked at, the Anvil Foundry seems like a great setup.  If I was ready to drop dime on a system, that would be the one I would be interested in. 

I was thinking of trying brew in a bag, what is wrong with that way of brewing?  I have read it is a great way to go to start the all grain process without really dumping a bunch of money into it.  I have to buy one pot, and a bag.  LOL. 

Offline fredthecat

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2022, 08:44:53 pm »
Hello,