Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water chemistry and safety  (Read 1119 times)

Offline jason.giannitsas

• 1st Kit
Water chemistry and safety
« on: March 17, 2022, 11:32:36 am »
Hey everyone,

I am a beginner home brewer and decided to go with distilled water from now on so i can add salts myself for a more consistent result.

However, i can only find deionised water in my area which is "not safe to drink". The question is: Are all those dangerous bacteria killed through the process of boiling the wort and beermanking in general? Is it actually safe to drink beer made with DI water?

From what i have read through the forum it seems like the answer is yes, but i just want to make sure it is before going ahead and trying this method on my next batch.

Thanks in advance.

Offline RC

• Brewmaster
Re: Water chemistry and safety
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2022, 12:12:29 pm »
I think the reason for that labeling has more to do with the lack of dissolved ions than bacteria. There shouldn't be any bacteria in that water. But just so you know, bacteria are killed at 150ish degrees. No boiling required.

DI water is pretty pure water and can be corrosive to metals. In principle, then, it should also be corrosive to internal body tissues (hence the safety warning). But, of course, normal humans are constantly ingesting replacement ions in their food and beverages, so I don't think there is any safety concern. Malt is loaded with ions and so once you add malt to DI water, it becomes simply water.

Offline Village Taphouse

• Brewmaster General
  • Ken from Chicago
    • The new Mayfair Court Brewhouse
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2022, 01:28:14 pm »
"Not safe to drink" or "Not for drinking"?