Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: When Your Starting Pitcher is TOO Good??  (Read 1071 times)

Offline a-a-ron

• 1st Kit
When Your Starting Pitcher is TOO Good??
« on: April 13, 2022, 08:45:09 am »
Hi, all. Here's my latest issue. I am fairly new to this brewing thing. About six brews in. I brew 2-2.5 gallon batches, and I usually make a starter. My obsession right now is to make a really good NEIPA. :o So here's the thing: after I pitched my latest batch (London Ale III), it was off to the races, dropping from 1.070 to 1.020 in 36 hours. Today, on day four, it's finishing at around 1.009! My calculated gravity was 1.017. I mashed at 152, which is fairly conservative as you know. Many mash lower for a NEIPA, around 149. I also know my refractometer is correctly calibrated and adjusted. And I am pretty sure my thermapen is giving me correct mash temps (though I will definitely check next time).

So I am led to wonder whether my tendency to make a starter for my small batches could be causing me to over-pitch, resulting in over-attenuation? I use Mr. Malty, and it usually says (with my average three-month old yeast) to make a 1-liter starter. I do use a stir plate. As far as oxygenating my wort, I tend to use a whirlpool wand and then shake the fermenter.

In fact, when I go back and look at my brewing journal, my beers USUALLY finish too dry. Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: When Your Starting Pitcher is TOO Good??
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2022, 08:53:26 am »
It could be the yeast, but there are other factors, too.  I had a run of over attenuated beers and finally discovered that my thermometer was miscalibrated so I was mashing at a lower temp than I intended.  Not that that's necessario y what's happening to you, but you need to consider all possible factors.