Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fermentation Timing Question  (Read 792 times)

Offline Rob218403

• 1st Kit
Fermentation Timing Question
« on: April 25, 2022, 06:27:58 pm »
I’m very new to home brewing, have done two brews that were kits with pretty thorough instructions that have been really helpful.

That being said as I keep trying other recipes and eventually want to branch out and try creating my own batches how will I know when fermentation is done?

The two previous brews had a Hefeweizen that was ready for bottling after 2 weeks and the other is a raspberry wheat that recommends 2 weeks fermentation and then 1 week secondary fermentation before bottling.

I don’t have any special fermentation equipment to control temperature so most of my brews would be done in my basement which is prob around 68. Does it come down to how much or what you put in your wort? Or the yeast you pitch?

I don’t want to waste time if it is ready quicker but also don’t want to bottle before I should. Is it more about checking the gravity after a certain point? Thank you!

Offline Kevin

• Brewmaster
  • Great beer. Less work. More fun.
Re: Fermentation Timing Question
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2022, 06:42:34 pm »