Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water - Naturally Soft Artesian Well  (Read 2097 times)

narvin

Re: Water - Naturally Soft Artesian Well
« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2022, 02:49:03 pm »
Unlike other breweries, our natural water doesn’t need chlorinating or softening before brewing; it rises from our artesian wells clean, clear and ready for brewing.

Clever wording, they are silent on the need for hardening  ;D.  I suppose adding gypsum to the mash could be considered completely separate from "water treatment"

So, you say they are being less than candid in their wording.
If they do not mention anything about adding chemicals, is it safe to assume that they do add chemicals?

I have no firsthand knowledge of PU's water, but I'd trust Martin over anyone else about it.  As a longtime fan of the trappist and abbey beers, I've encountered a lot of this marketing speak when trying to decipher their water, spices (or lack thereof), malt, candi sugar, and other things.  They like to keep the mystique even though it may not always jibe with reality.  The use of mineral free water as the ideal water for light lagers may be one of these things.

As for chemicals, gypsum is a mineral and could be considered a natural ingredient.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2022, 03:48:10 pm »
Unlike other breweries, our natural water doesn’t need chlorinating or softening before brewing; it rises from our artesian wells clean, clear and ready for brewing.

Clever wording, they are silent on the need for hardening  ;D.  I suppose adding gypsum to the mash could be considered completely separate from "water treatment"

If they do not mention anything about adding chemicals, is it safe to assume that they do add chemicals?